Skip to main content

Hoax! Facebook Will Not Use Your Photos In Ads

This rumor about Facebook using your photos in ads without your consent is spreading again. The rumor was not true earlier (back in 2009) and it is not true now.

Many Facebook users are saying in a status message that’s being passed and worried that Facebook plans to use their photos in Facebook ads, and they're telling everyone to change privacy settings to prevent it.

 

image

 

Here is what the message says:

 

image

 

On Friday, Facebook will start using your photos in ads that appear on the profile page of your friends. It's legal and mentioned in the fine print when you create your account. To STOP this do the following: got to Account, Account Settings, click on Facebook Ads, choose "No one" in BOTH drop-down menus (scroll down for 2nd) and save changes for EACH drop-down. Please copy this and use in a status update.

Let me start off by saying this rumor is FALSE. Facebook has also confirmed it is false. It was initially started back in July 2009, and has more recently shot up again.

In my opinion, anything that says “Pass Along” or “Forward” to some XXX number of people kind of lines should be considered suspicious. This is a favorite tactic of hoax initiators. And the instructions to follow above will not hurt if you were to follow them but don’t blindly make adjustments to any account setting or computer.

Lets get into the real account settings related to Facebook Ads that mentioned in it - Facebook's advertising guidelines specifically prohibit using your face in ads. Item 7B in the guidelines says, "Unless authorized by us, your ads may not display user data -- such as users' names or profile photos -- whether that data was obtained from Facebook or otherwise."

The hoax message also says to change the account setting option to choose “No one” in the drop down menu.

These settings actually exist, but they let you opt out of having your Facebook actions used in social ads. This has nothing to do with Facebook using your photo or not. It just means that you can decide whether companies you've "liked" on Facebook can show those likes in an ad. These settings have existed since last year.

So, don't be alarmed by this status message that's going around, and don't bother passing it on and it’s kind of like the time everyone was saying “Facebook planned to shut down on March 15”.

Comments

  1. This comment has been removed by a blog administrator.

    ReplyDelete

Post a Comment

Popular posts from this blog

Microsoft Officially Confirmed New Windows Logo

Microsoft changed its Windows Logo, an inspired design from its new Metro interface. A day after Apple unveiled its next operating system Mountain Lion, Microsoft announced in an official blog confirmation that it has redesigned the Windows Logo. This new logo is truly inspired from its well known mobile operating system Windows Phone.         The new design is the biggest change from its classic 90s logo. In an official post , Microsoft’s Principal Director of User Experience for Windows confirmed that the new logo carries Metro principle of being ‘Authentically Digital’. “ It’s a window… not a flag …., “your name is Windows. Why are you a flag?” In some ways you can trace the evolution of the Windows logo in parallel with the advancements of the technology used to create logos. From the simple two color version in Windows 1.0 to the intricate and detailed renderings in Windows Vista and Windows 7, each change makes sense in the context i...

Breaking: Microsoft India Store Has Been Hacked. Passwords In Plain Text Format Exposed [Update]

Well, this is huge! Microsoft’s India online store website has been hacked and all user information which was stored in plain text format without any encryption has also been exposed. It looks like the hacker team got remote access to the whole web server. The main reasons behind this hack are still unknown but from the homepage replaced information, its been predicted that a non well known hacker organization EvilShadow is behind all this invasion.     Microsoft pulled out the store page right now and might be working on this to get back the site. The unacceptable thing in all this story is that the software giant stored all the user information including passwords in the database in plain text without any encryption for such online shopping site. Update (as of 11:45 PM Central Time, 2/12/12) – The Microsoft Store India is still currently unavailable to users. To patch up things, Microsoft is asking customers to change their passwords immediately. Full email me...

Windows Phone 7.5 Tango Officially Renamed As ‘Refresh’

The next version of Microsoft’s Windows Phone operating system after Mango 7.1 is officially renamed as ‘Windows Phone 7.5 Refresh’ – according to the head of Windows Phone division for Microsoft Italy.     According to Italian version of the post , 7.5 Refresh update will mostly be an update to the minimum specs of the devices it’ll be able to run (minimum RAM requirements is dropped from 512 MB to 256 MB). Other updates which may include in this release are better media messaging, location awareness icon, export and manage contacts to SIM card. The next major update after ‘Refresh’ is called Windows Phone Apollo (probably Windows Phone 8) could certainly be an exciting release from Microsoft. This Apollo update may have BitLocker kind of support on mobile devices, multi-core support. [ via ] [ Image ]